It’s a major award!

My mom bought my brother a miniature leg lamp, but that’s not even the strangest thing that happened, yesterday.

Maybe you remember that Ty and I set a goal to run a 5K in less than 30 minutes. Our fastest official 5K time was 30:35, at the Applefest run in October– missed it by THAT MUCH. So, on Saturday (Ty’s birthday!) we were up early to report to the starting line, determined to beat our time. And, thanks to our half-marathon training, and Ty’s brilliant idea to actually purchase a stopwatch, we did it! The official results say that we clocked in at 28:15, but that doesn’t seem right because the big clock at the finish line said 27:something. That’s not the point.

Either way, we DID IT. Then we skipped the awards ceremony, and promptly went home to devour Yoda-shaped pancakes. (It was Ty’s birthday, afterall.)

Well, it turns out that we should have stuck around for the awards, because this came in the mail for me…

It’s a METAL MEDAL (oops)! And, not a participant medal, either. It’s a bona-fide you-actually-beat-another-human-being-in-a-foot-race metal! I came in 2nd in my age group! Granted, there were only 8 of us, but there were 6 people slower than me (not to mention the hundreds of 26-31 year old women who were still in bed…I’m counting them, too)!

I don’t think anything could have shocked me more. I mean, there are a lot of things I think I could win. A Tetris tournament. A falling asleep in inappropriate places contest. I was camp champion at rocketry for a few years. But, the closest I have ever been to winning anything athletic was a ping-pong tournament in high school gym class. (And, I lost in the finals.)

It almost makes me want to train more. Or, more likely, only run the teeniest tiniest 5K’s from now on.

3 thoughts on “It’s a major award!

  1. WHAT?!?!?! Talk about leaving me in the DUST on our parallel lives! Congrats… you deserve that medal. In fact, I’d be tickled pink if you wore it ALL weekend… please!

Leave a Reply

