Time MARCHES On…

I hope you can forgive me for the cheesy title. I’m very excited that March is here. Through my window I can feel the sun shining and hear the birds singing! I have a lot to look forward to this month– a weekend retreat with some friends, a choir reunion at Geneva, a quilting weekend at Lutherlyn, the first day of spring…

Let’s see how I’m doing on my 2012 things to do. As the months go by, I’m discovering that I don’t care as much about some of the things on my list as I did when I wrote it and there are other things I might like to add. I’m okay with that.

-Run a half marathon with Ty (and Oliver!!).
Yesterday was our first official training run. We ran 3 miles, and we both felt pretty good. The air was cold and my biggest complaint was that my teeth were sensitive to the cold. It’s been a while since we’ve done any running outside, and I’m thankful that we don’t have to start from the very beginning (one painful minute at a time).

-Make and send  my “Pay-It-Forward” crafts from 2011.
I’m down to THREE from 2011, because I finally sent these tie-dyed onesies…

-Sew a very over-due wedding quilt.
I pieced the whole top of this quilt in February, and I’m very excited about it. Maybe in March I will get up the nerve to quilt it.

-Finish quilting UFO quilt.

-Read and return The Last Child in the Woods.
I’ve given myself a deadline on this book because it’s not mine, and I need to return it. I’m about halfway through, and it’s very interesting (and affirming) for me as a former camp counselor and future educator. It reads kind of academically, so I have to force myself to pick it up, but I would definitely recommend it.

Finish my thesis well (and with a good attitude).
I finally presented to the Institutional Review Board in February (a huge roadblock, so far) and they approved my project pending a few simple revisions. If all goes as planned, I will be starting my group next Friday. I’m trying to stay calm, but when I think about it, the whole thing just makes me sick with stress. So, if you ever feel like asking me about it, just… don’t.

Finally graduate with my Master’s degree.
I applied to graduate in May. Maybe you could say a prayer for that to actually happen? Thanks.

Oh, and since I need to start learning how to use my camera, I think I’ll end these posts with my favorite picture from the previous month. (Also, I feel like I’ve ended on a crabby note, and who can be crabby when they see a birthday baby with a balloon?)

One thought on “Time MARCHES On…

  1. Baby!

    Wish I was joining you for the quilting retreat this month… maybe in the fall?

    Also, while I am always interested in reading what you have to say, hasn’t Oliver been a little MIA from this blog lately?

Leave a Reply

