#21: Give

Now that I’ve been working my new job for three weeks, I know that my first paycheck should show up any day now– but which day is far beyond me. (At training, the pay schedule was explained something like this: bi-weekly… on a two week delay… when the moon is in the seventh house and Jupiter aligns with Mars.)

Something that has suffered since I’ve been a poor graduate student has been my giving. So, with the hope that I would graduate and find reasonably gainful employment before I turned 30 (please, God!) one of the items on my 30 Before list is to simply “give.”

This is two-fold. And here is how I will know I was successful.

First, I need to put my money where my mouth is and contribute a regular, weekly offering to my congregation. I do a lot of grumbling about commitment to the church when it comes to people spending time and talents, but as for spending treasure I am one of the worst. (Hello, Kettle! My name is Pot!)

My goal is to fill all of my offering envelopes from January 1, 2012 to May 31, 2015 (my 30th birthday). If I miss a Sunday, I’ll have to catch up the next week. I didn’t want to set a weekly amount because I have no way of saying how my income will change in the next few years, and that’s not the point, anyway. As long as I’m faithful in filling the envelopes, it will be an improvement.

The other half of this will be my giving to Lutherlyn. This does have a baseline amount, because to remain members of the Trinity Pines Club (Lutherlyn’s core donor group), Ty and I need to donate $100 to camp each year. Hopefully in the future, we’ll be able to send more. Who knows.

Now, hurry up, paycheck!

4 thoughts on “#21: Give

  1. Go you! My name is also pot, what a coinky dink! That has drastically improved however after the last “cottage meeting” when I was inspired to set up an automatic payment through my bank. It’s a waste of envelopes, but at least I don’t get tempted to spend my measly amount elsewhere.

  2. I like your point of giving something, even if you don’t know what amount it will be consistently. J and M have chapel offering every Friday—and they each get a quarter to put in. Which kills me, but it’s what we can do. And I take comfort in the fact that giving a quarter each week will translate into a behavior that will last a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

