Thirty+ (Weeks) of Indie Travel: Jane’s Prompt #2

Prompt #2: Change can be exciting and bring new joys into our lives.  But it can present challenges that frustrate or annoy us.  How has travel changed you in the last year? Did you welcome these changes or resist them at the time, and how do you feel about them now?

Alright. I don’t know about Oliver, but this prompt kind of has me stumped.

At first, I wanted to make the excuse that I haven’t traveled frequently enough or far enough in the past year to really have an effect. But, that’s not true. I volunteered at the National Seashore in Mississippi, had a front row seat at a Mardi Gras parade in New Orleans, spent a week at “Lutheran mecca” (Holden Village) in the mountains of Washington, crammed three people in my Beetle and drove south to North Carolina, and relaxed with my family at Deep Creek Lake.

I would be a brat if I said that I didn’t do much traveling in the past year.

One self-awareness nugget that I can find in all of these trips– and one that Ty sometimes reminds me about– is that I am a bad decision maker. Or, to put it nicely: I am an option giver rather than an option chooser.

Rather than saying I want pizza (even if I do want pizza), I’ll throw out a list of options. Well, it looks like there’s burgers, tacos, pizzaaa… 

Apparently, this is not helpful.

I guess, then, to answer the prompt: I am resisting this change rather than welcoming it.

So everybody’s just going to have to DEAL.

Well, we can go LEFT or we can go RIGHT... (This was on a trail at Holden. I thought that it should have been labeled TRIAL instead. The snow was deep and I neglected to wear snowshoes.)

Leave a Reply

