30 Weeks of Indie Travel: Oliver’s Post #1

It all started with an email. A coworker of mine emailed me this website, followed by about a thousand explanation points.  In case you didn’t know, I love traveling, and I want to travel – everywhere, anywhere, all the time.  I might have high-pitched squealed when I saw the website. In my free time, I find myself going to Bootsnall to see how cheaply I can go hiking in Ethiopia (or, ahem Jane, Peru).

So, this story begins in the same way. I was sitting at my desk at work, amongst the stacks of ever-increasing paper and files, sipping coffee, and I saw the email slowly fade into my outlook. There it was: 30 prompts on traveling.

I was mesmerized. I wanted to do everything. I wanted to drop everything (including my coffee mug), head to BWI and jump on the first plane leaving the U.S.  Instead, what I did was forward the email to Jane, emphatically stating, “WEHAVETODOTHIS.”

So, Prompt #1: What were your travel goals last year? Did you accomplish them? What travel goals do you hope to accomplish this year?

One of my goals for Thirty Before is to visit all of the continental U.S., and I wanted to make a serious dent in this. I didn’t think it would actually happen. At the start of the year, I was under-employed, living in a corner of my sister and brother-and-law’s house, and seriously considering living out of my car until I could possibly find a real job.  By God’s grace, something came along in February, and I was on my first work trip to Minnesota in April(I know people, settle down your amazement at my glamorous job). I had never been! Later work trips sent me to Washington, Idaho, Montana, and Delaware. I feel seriously accomplished, and I’m hoping that road trips or other random excursions will knock out the remaining states that I have (Jane! You’re in, right?).

Of course, that was a less concrete goal, and I will tell myself that I accomplished it. Next year’s travel goal probably doesn’t have “travel internationally” written in it, just to be realistic, as the need to save money, pay off student loans, and actually pay to apply for all these grad schools are also pretty high goals. But I do hope to go to five more states that I’ve never been to, and also to be more intentional about traveling to other cities outside my own at least once every two months. I want to be intentional about living here where I am (so I won’t set out once every week), but I also want to see and explore more of this unique area (and all of the nearby cities) in this area where I live.

Here’s to traveling more in 2012!

One thought on “30 Weeks of Indie Travel: Oliver’s Post #1

Leave a Reply

