30 (Weeks) of Indie Travel: Jane’s Prompt #1

I’m very excited about this post, and you should be too, because in it I will be killing a whole flock of (Christmas) birds with one little stone.

You see, Oliver had this great idea about increasing our blogging productivity (which really won’t take very much at this point). For the next 30 weeks (is that what we decided?) we will be responding to the writing prompts from BootsnAll’s 30 Days of Indie Travel. (Three French Hens…)

If you blog, perhaps you would like to join us on this adventure? Ready, set, go…

Week 1: What were your travel goals last year? Did you accomplish them? What travel goals do you hope to accomplish this year?

Ty loves New York City. A lot. And, he’s been there a lot, too. I don’t know his record, but there was a time in his life where he was going at least yearly, probably more.

I, on the other hand, have spent maybe a total of 8 hours in The Big Apple– ducking in and out of buildings to keep from freezing to death. It was fun to see the city with Jocelyn, and catch a (discounted!) broadway show, but I’m not sure that 8 hours was enough for me to place a judgement– one way or another– on the city. (As though it really matters what I think.)

So, that brings me to Twoooo Turtle Doves.

#19- Visit New York City with Ty

I added this to my 30 before 30 list when I wrote it over a year ago. We’ve been talking and half-planning and talking, but keep coming up short on both time and finances. All of a sudden, last month (maybe earlier) it became clear to me that Ty was set on going… soon. I looked at my calendar and shook my piggy bank, and… meh. I had a hunch that if we were  to go to New York that Ty would propose.

But, it just wasn’t working out.

I consider myself a very observant and aware-of-what-is-going-on-around-me (was that redundant?) kind of person, and Ty doubly so, but one morning he blew his cover and nearly demanded that I take a day off of my internship so we could do something– go to New York, maybe, or spend some time in Cook Forest, or whatever. We both just need a break, he said.

Yeah, okay.

That afternoon, I made a plan for us. Let’s go to New York over Thanksgiving. I’d love to see the parade, I have the time off. Good plan, yes? Yes. It was decided in my head. We are going to New York over Thanksgiving, we are watching the parade, and Ty is giving me a ring, doggonit.

I get home from school that night, plop on the couch with Gnomeo and Juliet, and peruse airbnb for cheap places to stay. Ty (who is kneeling behind the couch and looking at my laptop over my shoulder) debates the feasibility of the trip on such short notice.

Finally, he says: “lady, we don’t have to go to New York. I was just trying to be fancy because I want to ask you to marry me.”

And this is what is going on in my head…

YES, I KNOW THAT BUT NOW YOU JUST RUINED IT!

Wait, is that a RING? Is he asking me RIGHT NOW?

Thank God I’m not wearing my blue fish pants!

Have I said anything out loud yet?! How do I get around this COUCH?!

He says I said yes, and I have this ring, so he must be right.

And, sometime soon we will go to New York City, and we both can enjoy the city with no proposal pretense.

(And a paaaaaartridge  in a pear treeeee.)

3 thoughts on “30 (Weeks) of Indie Travel: Jane’s Prompt #1

  1. hahaha! I missed this till today. I giggled into my coffee about your blue pj pants! That is one gorgeous ring! p.s. Hazel thought you were gonna spend the night and was VERY disappointed when she ran down the hall to the guest room this morning and I told her it was EMPTY! Maybe you and your fiance should just move in?

Leave a Reply

