#18: Leave the Country

This is my song, O God of all the nations
A song of peace, for lands afar & mine
This is my home, the country where my heart is
Here are my hopes, my dreams, my holy shrine
But other hearts in other lands are beating
With hopes and dreams as true and high as mine

My country’s skies are bluer than the ocean
And sunlight beams on clover leaf and pine
But other lands have sunlight too, and clover
And skies are everywhere as blue as mine
O hear my song, thou God of all the nation
A song of peace for their land and for mine

A few things happened in the last few weeks which have inspired me to introduce #18 on my list. The other day, I wrote about them in paragraphs. (Then my Safari closed and I lost the whole thing and maybe sometimes I don’t love my Mac as much as I think I do.) Today, I will list…
1. We are singing “This Is My Song” (above) in Venango Chorus. The lyrics make me weepy.

2. This time of year, FIVE YEARS AGO, I was going to school in Sydney.

3. My university is starting a program for graduate students to be leaders on international trips. Starting this spring. (WHYYY not last year?? Boohoo.)

4. Our church’s brand-spanking-new women’s circle had our first meeting and we were joking about being the “traveling circle.” (Rather than having a service focus.)

5. Oliver showed me http://www.bootsnall.com which has ROUND THE WORLD airfare. Yes. I want that.

Anyway, I want to travel somewhere far away and awesome. It can’t happen now, but I have almost 4 years til 30. Until then, tell me where I should visit, and I will remember the blue skies I have already had the good fortune to see…

One thought on “#18: Leave the Country

  1. Still can’t believe you weep at that song… though I do love it! Where shall you go? Well, our brand-spankin-new-circle REALLY REALLY will travel someday…. I’m determined! Tonight over dinner, while gathering brochures for you… Jake and I talked about how awesome it would be to travel France and/or Italy with you and T-bone and explore new foods. I don’t see that happening within the next 4 years though!

Leave a Reply

