#14: Earn a Master’s Degree

I’m writing this, today, to remind myself that this is important to me. 

It’s the last week of my second year of graduate school, all of the fun and excitement of a new adventure is long gone. So, I’m sitting here with what’s left of my motivation and trying to get it to mingle– just a little– with the research paper, program proposal, and final test I need to complete in the next seven days.

It’s times like these where I really notice a conflict in the way I think about school and grades, and success, and career.

On one hand, I like to be– um– smart. I like to read and analyze and participate in class. I like to know stuff about stuff. Working in Career Services has taught me to value a nice, sharp, meaty resume (not to mention has made me very anxious about searching for a job). School is important to me, and I want to be a school counselor.

On the other hand, though, I know that schools aren’t the source of all education. And, I’m quickly learning that I am going to have a difficult time working with people who think that they are. What’s worse is, as schools have fewer and fewer funds to operate with, the first things to get cut are all of the things that are diverse– art, music, extracurriculars, family and consumer science, languages.

The point of all that is to say this: I’m not sure I can spend my whole career in a system that makes me mad. (And I use that word in the proper, toss-me-the-straight-jacket, kind of way.)

Have you seen the movie Stranger Than Fiction? It’s a good film (despite– or maybe because of– Will Ferrell.) You should watch it. I bring it up because I want to be Maggie Gyllenhaal’s character, Anna, when I grow up.

Anyway, I need to write a paper. Because this is important to me. Yes.

2 thoughts on “#14: Earn a Master’s Degree

  1. I’m sure it doesn’t help that you have a friend who loves to gab your ear off about why she loves and hates that particular career. However, despite the frustrations (lack of counseling duties, abundance of admin duties, budget cuts, stupid coworkers, annoying kids… did I just say that publicly?)… it’s still the coolest, most diverse work day, best opportunity to make a difference job out there (in my humble opinion). Way to go on making it almost all the way through grad school!

  2. Thanks, Julie!

    When we are competing for the same job, I’ll make sure to print this comment, highlight the “stupid coworkers, annoying kids” part, and send it to the school board. Anonymously, of course.

    Oh, and I guess I’ll have to cross out the “toss me the straight jacket” part, too.

Leave a Reply

