#9: “I tried something new!”

I couldn’t think of a name for Goal #9. I think it depends on how you look at it.

On one hand, it could be my cop-out goal; the brilliant idea that I had when I could only come up with 29 things to do.

On the other hand, you could think of it as being my wildcard goal; the one that doesn’t lock me into 30 specific things, but allows for some spontaneity.

Either way, here it is (and forgive me because the wording is crap): #9: Try 25 new things.

A lot of my 30 Before 30 list is about IMPROVING skills I already have, or becoming more involved in things I already do. These things will take time, and practice. In my cop-out wildcard goal, I only need to get a taste of something to be able to count it as “tried.”

So, for example (and this is a lame example), I don’t wear earrings that dangle. In fact, I have worn the same earrings for the last five years, at least. SO, one day I decide to start wearing fashionable earrings. I get a “I tried something new” point. Even if I only wear them for a day.

I’m open to suggestions.

Jane

6 thoughts on “#9: “I tried something new!”

  1. That is NOT A LAME example. Dangle-y earrings are very important! I’m an addict! Once I blogged about how I was gonna start wearing more trendy dangles and I got a few pairs sent to me… so I’ll be out shopping for you in the very near future 🙂

  2. I alternate between the same two pairs of earrings (fake silver + fake diamond studs and fake gold + fake pearl studs) almost 100% of the time, and I support that goal. My gold pair broke two days ago (fake pearl fell out), so I’ll need to be shopping for a replacement pair. I’ll keep you in mind, too 🙂 I’m picky about what earrings I can put up with, so I can probably find you a dangly pair that isn’t annoying.

  3. Cheer for the Browns, write a short story (and then post it here), go to the movies alone, eat something from McDonald’s or Wendy’s that you’ve never eaten, wear stilettos, play a sport you’ve never played, intentionally lose a game (of some sorts), do an open mic night, etc.

    I like this idea, “I tried something new” points…

  4. I take that back. I was pulling for them to beat the Patriots or the Ravens (I forget which) ONE TIME this season.

    AND, one time only.

  5. I am also a huge fan of dangle-y earrings!!! I especially like ones that make a little noise when I turn my head. Really the only piece of jewelry I pay any attention to is my earrings. And I love shopping for them! Maybe I’ll pick you up a pair too!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

