#7: Run a Half Marathon

I think my high school gym teacher just died laughing.

And, a few of you might remember my rendition of “Jesus Loves Me” as the rain came down over our dreaded, graded (and, thankfully, cancelled) mile run.

Now, I’d like to see what I can do now that I’m not being forced to run. (Funny how that works.)

Spurred on by a good friend who wanted to give it a go, I completed the Couch to 5K training program and ran my first 5K over the summer. (You can download a Couch to 5K app that you play over your running music that tells you how long to run, and keeps track of your progress. It was perfect for me because I have no idea how to write a training plan, and it made it much more difficult for me to avoid running. Plus, it really eased me into the distance, which was important because I had never run even a mile until this year.)

Naturally, my next step will be to run a 10K, and this is how I plan on doing it.

1. Download and start the Bridge to 10K training program.

2. Regularly attend Spinning classes at the local YMCA.

3. Keep track of my eating. I will use an app on my android called myfitnesspal. It subtracts what I have eaten from the number of calories I should be consuming in a day. This may seem obsessive, but I can promise that this is only to give me a better picture of my eating, because I am really good at mindlessly putting food in my mouth for reasons other than hunger.

4. Try yoga. A few months ago, I stopped running because of stress-related health issues, and I’m hoping yoga will be a good way for me to find a little calm.

5. No matter what, find a way to be active 5 days out of the week.

6. Find and register for a 10K, soon.

Since it’s the first week of 2011, I’m sure some of you have just set some fitness goals/resolutions for the new year, and I’m curious to hear how you plan on sticking with them. What are your goals, and how do you keep yourself motivated throughout the year?

(Oh yeah, just for fun, I will be running The Warrior Dash with my boyfriend and a few of our friends. Check it out. You get a Viking Helmet.)

Ready, set, go!

Jane

2 thoughts on “#7: Run a Half Marathon

  1. Oh yes, you’ll love running a half…well not running it, but finishing it. I was the kid in high school who took multiple attempts each year to complete the 12 minute mile that was required. I got bored one semester and decided I would run a half. The training was great because I got to eat nonstop. Finishing the race was indescribable. Do it.

Leave a Reply

