Secret Ingredient

And the winner is…

My chocolate chip cookies were laced with strips of pig. Bacon makes everything better, right?

Well, I’ve run a few taste tests, and the conclusion of all of my tasters was the same. The cookies are delicious, but you barely notice the bacon. They aren’t show-stoppers for their novelty, but they’re great for conversation, and as far as chocolate chip cookies go, they’re actually pretty good. With or without the bacon. Just chewy enough. A hint of maple. A little bit of savoriness, if you pay close attention. Yum.

You can find the recipe here.

If you ARE looking for a show-stopper, though, I would recommend the German Pancake.

Gaze upon its beauty…

(Both this and the bacon photo were stolen from Google Images.)

I found a recipe for these babies in a G.Q. (of all places), and I’m going to give it FIVE STARS in all of the following categories: taste, aesthetics, smell, impressiveness, novelty, ease of baking. Seriously. Make one. Make ten!

German Pancake Recipe (Makes 1 Pancake– 1-2 servings)

Ingredients: 3T Butter, 1/4 t Salt, 1t Sugar, 2 Eggs, 1/2 Cup Flower, 1/2 Cup Milk

1. Preheat oven to 425.
2. Melt butter on a pie plate in the oven.
3. Whisk together the remaining ingredients and pour them over the melted butter.
4. Bake for 20 minutes.
5. Serve with powdered sugar, syrup, fresh fruit, be creative!

Merry Christmas!

Jane.

PS: My brave friends who guessed ingredients in my last post will ALL get cookies. I’m thankful for your comments (and your existence!) and I’m getting into the spirit of this day of giving.

Let me know if you want bacon. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Secret Ingredient

Leave a Reply

